how to make washi tape

Remember that junk journal I made for myself?  Well, as I was making it, I thought, “I bet my sister would really like one of these.”  So I made her one too!  She’s super artsy and totally the “junk” journal type.  Here are some of my favorite pages in her journal:

sis journal collageOne thing I included to complete the whole package was homemade Washi Tape so that she’d have some sort of adhesive to tack stuff on.

washi title

washi materials

  1. Wax paper
  2. Double-sided tape
  3. Cutting tool/ scissors
  4. Gift tissue paper (I only had solid colored tissue but use whatever design/pattern you like)
  5. Stamps and ink (optional)
  6. Toilet paper roll and twist ties (optional)

washi step 1

washi step 2

washi step 3

washi step 4

washi step 5

If you have patterned tissue paper (or prefer solid colored tape) and do not need the Washi Tape stored in any certain way, then you are done!  To use the tape, you simply remove the wax paper.  Pretty neat, huh?

If you would like to decorate and store your tape on a roll, then continue by flipping all tape strips so they are facing tissue paper-side up.

washi step 5.5

washi step 6

Here are some designs I came up with:

washi step 6.5 washi tape blue

washi step 7

washi step 8I made a few rolls for myself because I couldn’t resist – they’re just so cute!  But this is how I packaged the tape with my sister’s journal:

washi containerI cut them into small strips and placed them in a plastic container with a label.  I have to say, I have really outdone myself this time  :-)  Next up, I’m gonna wrap it all pretty and give it to her as a birthday gift.  Ooh, I’m so excited – I hope she likes it!

Have a wonderful Monday!

Nancy

2 comments
  1. cakeeeeeee101 said:

    can i use printed paper if i dont have tissue paper?

  2. cakeeeeeee101 said:

    omg april,8 is my birthday

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

